LISTEN: Warren Haynes Talks About New Gov't Mule Album "Heavy Load Blues"

Photo: Photo: Jay Sansone/Gov't Mule

Gov't Mule has a new album coming out this Friday, November 12th called "Heavy Load Blues."

It's the band's first ever blues album, and features a mix of originals and covers originally made famous by the likes of Howlin’ Wolf, Elmore James, Junior Wells, Ann Peebles, Bobby “Blue” Bland, Tom Waits and the Animals.

Warren Hayne's called in to talk about the new record, and we chatted in depth about the recording process, the vintage gear they used, the remaining shows they have on the schedule this year, and Island Exodus 12 which is happening in January the Jewel Paradise Cove Resort in Runaway Bay, Jamaica.

It was a great conversation, and you can listen to it below, or on my Rock & Roll Basement Podcast on iHeartRadio.

I also included a couple of the behinds the scenes videos the band did for the new record. All of those are available to check out on the Gov't Mule YouTube channel.

I can't wait to hear the rest of the record when it drops tomorrow!

Heavy Load Blues Track Listing:

1. Blues Before Sunrise

2. Hole In My Soul

3. Wake Up Dead

4. Love Is A Mean Old World

5. Snatch It Back and Hold It – Hold It Back – Snatch It Back and Hold It

6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City

7. (Brother Bill) Last Clean Shirt 

8. Make It Rain

9. Heavy Load

10. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home

11. If Heartaches Were Nickels

12. I Asked Her For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)

13. Black Horizon

Photo: Photo: Gov't Mule

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content