Elmore James All-Star Tribute Album

 Blues legend Elmore James is getting the all-star tribute treatment later this month. The album titled "Strange Angels" has a diverse and eclectic list of musicians with their versions of James' tunes.

The first single "Mean Mistreatin' Mama" is a collaboration between Billy F. Gibbons of ZZ Top, Gov't Mule's Warren Haynes and Willie Nelson's sideman and harmonica player Mickey Raphael.

Other contributors include soul singer Bettye LaVette, country veteran Rodney Crowell, blues guitarist-singer/songwriter Keb' Mo' and pop legend Tom Jones. All are paying their respects to an artist whose influence is felt more than 50 years after his death.

'Strange Angels: In Flight With Elmore James' Track Listing:

  • Can't Stop Loving You - Elayna Boynton
  • Person To Person - Bettye LaVette w/ G.E Smith
  • Shake Your Money Maker - Rodney Crowell
  • Done Somebody Wrong - Tom Jones
  • Mean Mistreatin' Mama - Warren Haynes w/Billy Gibbons & Mickey Raphae
  • lDust My Broom - Deborah Bonham
  • It Hurts Me Too - Jamey Johnson w/ Warren Haynes
  • Strange Angels - Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer
  • Look On Yonder Wall - Keb Mo'
  • My Bleeding Heart - Mollie Marriott
  • Hawaiian Boogie - Chuck E. Weiss
  • Dark And Dreary - Addi McDaniel
  • Bobby's Rock - Elmore's Latest Broomdusters


Mike Steele

Mike Steele

Want to know more about Mike Steele? Get their official bio, social pages & articles! Read more


Content Goes Here